Pinterest Weddings: So, I won’t be getting my “wife card”.

Confession time: I have never pinned anything wedding-related on Pinterest, nor have I ever looked in the wedding section on Pinterest. This has not ever been a desire of mine at any point in time.

…..Am I going to get my lady card revoked now? #whatislady

A status from 2 months ago.

A commenter told me I would never get my “wife card”.

So.

Me not planning a theoretical wedding when I haven’t even met anyone with whom I’d like to share that commitment with, on a website that often doesn’t have their sources listed with their images, means that no one will ever desire to marry me.

….Am I the only one who thinks that logic isn’t sound?

I mean, did anyone ever stop to consider that this is perhaps not a life goal for me, that I have actual dreams that don’t involve me committing my entire life to another human being? I am all for commitment, which is why I am often put more emphasis on my relationship with someone and our commitment for one another rather than on whether they are “The One”.

And I feel like that should be an approach everyone should take – Wouldn’t you rather worry about experiencing the relationship than stressing out about whether this is how the rest of your life will be? That’s what I’d prefer doing. This could last 2 months, a year, 8 years, 20 years, the rest of my life. Who knows. I want to live those moments presently, and without fear. And if one day that person I spend my moments with wants to make our commitment to be more official, more tax-friendly, that’ll be a conversation for that moment.

Until then, I’d rather look into MFA programs for Creative Writing, dream up design jobs, and leave marks over all of the countries and cities I want to visit someday. And if that means I will never have a life partner, so be it. I’d rather be myself alone than pretend to be someone else just to have someone by my side.

Published by

Brenna Renée Prather

Costume Designer. Writer. Artist.

Leave a Thought

