National Poetry Writing Month: Week Two

I wish I could start this whole thing off on a light note. But unfortunately, my cat, my little girl, Rosey Posey Prather, died this morning. It was quite sudden.

She lived a good long life. She would have been 17 this coming August.

She was my birthday present in the first grade. When I opened this big box, I found that it was filled with cat toys and food dishes. I was so thrilled. My birthday is during the week of Christmas, so we waited until the first week of January to go to our local humane society to pick a cat out. January 7th, to be exact. I knew I wanted a black cat and it had to be a girl. I walked in and looked around at all the cats – and there she was.

A little tuxedo cat, about 6 months old. She was the only girl in the whole room, and her sister had been adopted the day before. She reached out to me, and my life was never the same. We were two peas in a pod. It might sound silly to some people, but she was my first best friend (after my mom, of course).

She is….was my whole world. I gave her all the love I could give her and more. She was my everything. Gods, I miss her so much already.

In honor of her,I thought I would share the entire poem I wrote about her on the first day of this month.

I know I am home

when I hear your sudden scramble

to the door & tight “meow” as

I enter.

I feel safe

when I hear your stretching moan

underneath the bed at 2am.

I find it cute

when you look at me

begging for treats,

even though I just gave you 6.

It makes me laugh

when you get so picky about

your water.

“The fresher the better”.

But my favorite thing about you

is how intuitive you are,

especially after a long day –

you gracefully next to me,

a wave of purrs rush over me,

How your fur can be shiny & silky

still amazes,

my little Tuxedo cat.

Your sweetness reminds

me that I am not alone,

as you look @ me,

only me,

as if I am the world.

16 years have passed since

our fated meeting.

I know our love is

a ticking clock.

But my hope is that our love

will surpass us,

the world,

the galaxy,

and maybe even the cosmos.

Love you always,

my precious Rosey. ❤

 

 

Here’s the snippets from Week Two of National Poetry Month –

 

04/09/2017

Lips stained insolence,

Spilling out ignorance.

I try to wash you away.

But I guess ordinary water will not do.

04/10/2017

Imaginary conversations sipped at 2am,

wondering when our eyes will shut

…..

Let us remain in conversations until the lights go up.

04/11/2017

It’s almost as though we are fire.

04/12/2017

….I shouldn’t be wishing my skin would dissolve in the pit of my own stomach acid.

04/13/2017

…Jumpin’ out of this sweatsuit,

into a space suit,

as I shoot off acute.

04/14/2017

Are we brunch on a Tuesday at noon? Are we picnics placed delicately by a clear blue lake?

04/15/2017

Heart over mouth.

Eyes go blind,

thinking of all of the stars

in your galaxies…

 

Give your loved ones a hug today. Value them. Love them. Stay safe and stay insane.

Thank you for all of the wonderful years we shared, Rosey.

Love you always.

Published by

Brenna Renée Prather

Costume Designer. Writer. Artist.

Leave a Thought

