National Poetry Writing Month: Week Four

And so it draws to a close.

It has been years since I wrote consistently every day. When I was young, I wrote every day because I loved it, but as I grew up, quality seemed to be more important to me than fueling my passion regularly. I became a victim to the belief that you must “wait for your muse to come”.

I might as well have waited for my Prince Charming/Knight in Shining Armour to show up while I was at it.

I’d say for sure that this month taught me that it isn’t about always churning out good stuff, because the reality is, you will make crappy poetry. No matter what. But it’s better to exercise that writing muscle and then look to find the great lines. The fabulous lines. Find the lines that really strike out. And then those lines, you can use elsewhere. Or not at all. It’s all up to you.

In any event, I will definitely try to write everyday now, whether it’s a poem, to-do list, story, or otherwise.

Without further ado, here are the poems for Week Four:

 

04/23/2017

A new horizon, I look beyond the veil.

04/24/2017

I will finally a part of this new world,

and then suddenly,

it’s like slipping on glass

& swallowing razor blades.

04/25/2017

Into the darkness.

I am swallowed down.

Cool at the surface.

Hollow within.

04/26/2017

Dancing around you,

tip-toe-ing over daisies.

We stand so close

I can barely breathe.

Am I a part of you?

Can I let you in?

04/27/2017

….Coca Cola like it was nothing…

04/28/2017

…doubt,

like black ink,

spreads through my veins,

consuming me whole….

04/29/2017

Lace,

and an old pair of dirty boots

Dirty in the air,

crystals in my lungs.

04/30/2017

I miss the smell of you

in my lungs…

 

Stay safe and insane, my dears ❤

Published by

Brenna Renée Prather

Costume Designer. Writer. Artist.

Leave a Thought

